Thursday, 6 August 2015

Art of the Cover - Wilco's "Star Wars" (2015)

I sweat tears, but I don't ever cry ....


Feline lover, Jeff Tweedy and pals are back, bitches!

Why is the new album called Star Wars, and why is the cover a painting of a fluffy white cat? Tweedy hopes we never find out! ..... “I cry at a joke explained", he croons, four songs in!

Wilco’s surprise release is, what else, but a playful step toward the avant-garde!

Star Wars, their ninth album, comes a full four years after 2011’s universally acclaimed The Whole Love. That set of songs saw critics the world over showering superlatives on an album that most agreed was the work of a classic American band at the peak of their powers.

“Why release an album this way and why make it free? Well, the biggest reason, and I’m not sure we even need any others, is that it felt like it would be fun. What’s more fun than a surprise?” Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy wrote on the band’s Facebook page when the album dropped.

Wilco fans can visit their website, input their email and receive their complimentary download of Star Wars. The website points out that the free download is only for a limited time, so act fast.


1. EKG
2. More…
3. Random Name Generator
4. The Joke Explained
5. You Satellite
6. Taste the Ceiling
7. Pickled Ginger
8. Where Do I Begin
9. Cold Slope
10. King of You
11. Magnetized

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails