Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Art of the Cover - Yo La Tengo's "Stuff Like That There" (2015)

Yo La Tengo Collect Covers, Reworkings, New Songs on Stuff Like That There, Announce Tour

A nice post-modern piece of neo-cubist (or something!) art adorns this fine collection from Hoboken's finest; the mighty, Yo La Tengo.

The album cover was painted by Georgia Hubley herself!

The lovely bio for the album was written by fan-boy Kurt Wagner of Lambchop!

The album's title, oddly, name-checks a 1940's hit sung by Betty Hutton!

Stuff Like That There is a sequel of sorts to Fakebook, Yo La Tengo's 1990 album which featured covers and re-workings of older songs. 

And this platter just goes to prove once again that nobody can create adapt/ improve songs as well as YLT! They're so good that they even re-interpret their own songs brilliantly!


Early pre-orders of the LP come with a full-print tote bag, a cassingle featuring unreleased songs, and other "mystery stuff"!

The album features re-recorded versions of some of their old songs as well as a diverse array of covers of tracks by the Cure, Hank Williams, the Parliaments, Sun Ra, the Lovin' Spoonful, Darlene McCrea, and others. Included too is a cover of "Automatic Doom", by Special Pillow (the 1990s Hoboken band that featured Yo La Tengo's James McNew.)

Fresh off celebrating their 30th anniversary as one of the most beloved and adventurous bands in rock history, Yo La Tengo release Stuff Like That There on August 28th via Matador Records and will embark on a world tour starting September 23rd in Troy, NY.

The trio of Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew now return as a quartet, reuniting with former member Dave Schramm on electric guitar as they revisit the original concept of their beloved Fakebook (a mix of cover songs, “covers” of Yo La Tengo songs, and brand new originals) on its 25th anniversary.

This unprecedented live set-up -- Ira on acoustic guitar, Georgia up-front on a small kit, and James on upright bass -- marks the first occasion of this particular Yo La Tengo incarnation touring together (and since it took them 31 years to get around to doing so, could very well also be the last).be sure to check them out!


A1: My Heart's Not in It (Darlene McCrea)
A2: Rickety
A3: I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry (Hank Williams)
A4: All Your Secrets (remake of track from Popular Songs)
A5: The Ballad of Red Buckets (remake of track from Electr-o-pura)
A6: Friday I'm in Love (The Cure)
A7: Before We Stopped to Think  (Great Plains)
B1: Butchie's Tune (The Lovin' Spoonful)
B2: Automatic Doom (Special Pillow)
B3: Awhileaway
B4: I Can Feel the Ice Melting (The Parliaments)
B5: Naples (Antietam)
B6: Deeper Into Movies (remake of track from I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One)
B7: Somebody's in Love (The Cosmic Rays with Le Sun Ra and Arkestra)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails