Tuesday, 21 July 2015

Art of the Cover - Tame Impala's "Currents" (2015)

yes I’m older - yes I’m moving on ....

It's the suitably trippy cover to Currents - the third studio album by antipodean psych stars Tame Impala.

The cover art for Currents - and its accompanying singles - were created by Kentucky based artist and musician Robert Beatty.

Kevin Parker, the wild man behind behind Tame Impala, said Currents' designs are based on a diagram of vortex shedding he remembered while trying to visualise the album's themes.

Beatty described how Parker's ideas for the album artwork "were all based on turbulent flow, the way liquid or air flows around objects."

Parker had obviously been imbibing a lot of strong and strange shit around this time!!

The cover reminds me a bit of Peter Saville's wonderful artwork for Joy Division's seminal 1979 debut, Unknown Pleasures.

As is immediately clear - or not - Saville's iconic imagery was based on an image of radio waves from pulsar CP 1919, from The Cambridge Encyclopaedia of Astronomy!

Yap, it's all change for Tame Impala as this expansive third album swaps their trademark fuzzy guitars for full-bodied bass and vivid synths.

And a pretty fucking good change it is too!

Parker cryptically explained that Currents is about the process of personal transformation, saying ...
"It follows the progression of someone feeling like they are becoming something else. They're becoming the kind of person they thought they'd never become."
Released on 17 July 2015 on Interscope Records, Currents  includes "Let It Happen", released as a free download; the first official single, "Cause I'm a Man", released on 7 April 2015; and "Disciples", released 29 April 2015.

The LP is also available in a special Limited-Edition Colored Vinyl 2-LP version ... just click the link on LHS!!!


1. "Let It Happen"   7:46
2. "Nangs"   1:47
3. "The Moment"   4:15
4. "Yes I'm Changing"   4:30
5. "Eventually"   5:19
6. "Gossip"   0:55
7. "The Less I Know the Better"   3:38
8. "Past Life"   3:47
9. "Disciples"   1:48
10. "'Cause I'm a Man"   4:01
11. "Reality in Motion"   4:12
12. "Love/Paranoia"   3:06
13. "New Person, Same Old Mistakes"   6:02

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails