Thursday, 11 June 2015

Art of the Cover - Destroyer's "Poison Season" {Double CD} (2015)

Destroyer Returns With Poison Season, Shares

A spectral shot of Dan Bejar adorns the cover to Destroyer's long-awaited, impending new opus "Poison Season".

Bejar's last Destroyer album was 2011's excellent Kaputt, while, in 2013, he released the idiosyncratic and fine collection Five Spanish Songs EP.

the double LP Poison Season  drops on August 28th via Merge in the U.S. and Dead Oceans in the UK, but can be ordered now [click LHS link!]

The same day, Bejar will release a two-song 12" companion piece to the album, which features a remix of "Forces From Above" and an orchestral version of "Times Square, Poison Season". The latter song opens the album and is reprised twice after that.

Bejar explains in a statement:
The first and last songs are actually one song tracked live with quintet. I even sang with the band. That song always swung between super austere and super mid-'70s Springsteen/Bowie street-rock. In the end, I decided I wanted both. Couldn't really figure out a way to sequence the orchestral version within the record, so I decided to carve it up as a book-ending motif, with the rock version squarely in the middle.


01 Times Square, Poison Season
02 Dream Lover
03 Forces From Above
04 Hell
05 The River
06 Girl in a Sling
07 Times Square
08 Archer on the Beach
09 Midnight Meet the Rain
10 Solace's Bride
11 Bangkok
12 Sun in the Sky
13 Times Square, Poison Season II

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails