Wednesday, 1 July 2015

Art of the Cover - David Lynch's "The Big Dream" {Deluxe Double LP} (2013)

A stark simple piece of artwork adorns legendary film director cum multimedia artist David Lynch's "The Big Dream"  -  the fine follow-up to his acclaimed 2011 solo debut Crazy Clown Time.

This, the Deluxe Double LP comes with a wonderful bonus 7", "I'm Waiting Here" features Swedish singer-songwriter Lykke Li. The B-side of the 7" contains a one-of-a-kind etching inscribed by Lynch.

The 2013 album sees Lynch returning to primary songwriting and performance duties, writing 11 out of the album's 12 tracks.

Also included in the lineup is Lynch's signature take on the Bob Dylan folk classic "The Ballad of Hollis Brown" and a special bonus track featuring acclaimed Swedish musician Lykke Li.

Describing his style of music as "modern blues, " Lynch says, "most of the songs start out as a type of blues jam and then we go sideways from there. What comes out is a hybrid, modernized form of low-down blues. " As you would expect from an accomplished film director, the songs are cinematic in scope. Lynch uses his reverb-drenched guitar and processed voice to summon primal moods and melodies that color a strange world populated by character archetypes familiar to fans of his films: the irresistible femme fatale in "Star Dream Girl, " the tender romantic in "The Big Dream, " and "Are You Sure, " the smooth psychopath in "Say It, " and the quirky oddball in "Sun Can t Be Seen No More."

While Lynch touches on modern electronic production ("Wishing Well" and "Last Call") and classically dreamy material ("Are You Sure, " "Cold Wind Blowin "), the album always manages to keep one foot rooted in the blues a style of music he loves. "The Blues is an honest and emotional form of music that is thrilling to the soul. I keep coming back to it, because it feels so good, " Lynch says.

The Big Dream was recorded over several months at Lynch's own Asymmetrical Studio with engineer Dean Hurley, who also contributes production and instrumentation to the album.


1. The Big Dream
2. Star Dream Girl
3. Last Call
4. Cold Wind Blowin
5. The Ballad of Hollis Brown
6. Wishing Well
7. Say It
8. We Rolled Together
9. Sun Can t Be Seen No More
10. I Want You
11. The Line It Curves
12. Are You Sure
13. I m Waiting Here (with Lykke Li)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails