Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Art of the Cover - Calexico's "Spiritoso" (2013)

A beautiful, nigh abstract, piece of photography adorns this lovely live LP from the mighty Calexico.

Yap, it's the gorgeous Spiritoso which was recorded live with symphonic orchestras in Vienna and Potsdam.

Originally a Record Store Day exclusive, Spiritoso documents a series of shows Calexico performed during 2012 in Germany with the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg. The gig was from the tour promoting the sublime Algiers LP

Much like the band's wonderful vinyl Box-Set Road Atlas, this live album has a lovely casual retrospective feel, featuring some songs from the Algiers LP and also culling tracks from throughout the band’s career but with no real attempt to be definitive.

All songs are, of course, beautifully - nay immaculately - performed.


1 Frontera / Trigger
2 Epic
3 The News About William
4 Black Heart
5 Minas De Cobre
6 Inspiracion
7 Two Silver Trees
8 Para
9 Quattro (Worlds Drift In)
10 Crystal Frontier
11 The Vanishing Mind
12 Fortune Teller

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails