Sunday, 17 May 2015

Art of the Cover - Rory Gallagher's "Irishman In New York" (2015)


This fine two disc set features the late great Bluesman Rory Gallagher, along with longtime bassist Gerry McAvoy and drummer Ted McKenna and contains live cuts chosen from sold out NYC gigs in September 1979.

Wonderful songs - and blistering performances - as usual here from the mighty Rory!

If you're a fan of Gallagher and/or the electric guitar you need to hear this. As well as his own peerless originals, Gallagher does some fine cover versions - including an intense version of Frankie Ford's classic 1950's era "Sea Cruise" like you've never heard before.

This new release can easily sit next to whatever you think is the best live Gallagher recording you own. And it might just wipe up the floor with it. It's that good.


CD 1
01. Shin Kicker (3:34)
02. Last Of The Independents (5:40)
03. Keychain (5:52)
04. Moonchild (5:10)
05. The Mississippi Sheiks (5:44)
06. I Wonder Who (7:48)
07. Tattoo'd Lady (5:09)
08. Too Much Alcohol (3:47)
09. Pistol Slapper Blues (3:03)

 CD 2

01. Shadow Play (5:42)
02. Bought And Sold (5:00)
03. Walk On Hot Coals (5:26)
04. Messin' With The Kid (5:22)
05. Bullfrog Blues (2:50)
06. Sea Cruise (2:57)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails