Saturday, 7 November 2015

Art of the Cover - Leonard Cohen's "Can't Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour" (2015)

the patron saint of envy and the grocer of despair working for the yankee dollar ...

A clone-tastic piece of stylised art adorns this wonderful live Lenny collection.

The ten songs of this hypnotic album are real rarities, recorded on his recent, celebrated "Old Ideas World Tour."

The album includes some songs Cohen has never released before - songs like "Never Gave Nobody Trouble" and "Got a Little Secret" - as well as a covers of George Jones' "Choices" and Georges Dor's "La Manic".

Can't Forget gives listeners an extremely special glimpse into Cohen's intimate rehearsal process, widely known to be in-depth 'concerts before the concert,' heard by fans for the first time with this new record.  

The songs on Can't Forget have the immediacy, spontaneity, and thrilling intimacy of the best studio recordings made in the white heat of live performance and Cohen's legendary soundchecks, in which he brings the colors of his virtuoso band to full bloom in harmony with his voice, never more seductive.

In here is a full range of Leonard Cohen's work: new songs including, from the realm of blues, the wickedly funny "Got a Little Secret" and "Never Gave Nobody Trouble"; luxurious performances of such Cohen masterpieces as "I Can't Forget," "Light As a Breeze," "Night Comes On," and a sublime  reinterpretation of "Joan of Arc".

Cohen also treats us to a gripping version of the Quebecois love song "La Manic," performed before a captivated audience in Quebec City, as well as a moving tribute cover of the late country master George Jones's classic "Choices."

Yap these are surely songs and performances of the first order that you can't ever forget. 


1. Field Commander Cohen (Live at Denver Soundcheck, 2012) 4:24
2. I Can't Forget (Live at Copenhagen Show, 2012) 4:17  
3. Light as the Breeze (Live at Dublin Show, 2012) 6:33  
4. La Manic (Live at Québec City Show, 2012) 4:14  
5. Night Comes On (Live at Mönchengladbach Show, 2012) 5:55  
6. Never Gave Nobody Trouble (Live at Odense Soundcheck, 2013) 4:51  
7. Joan of Arc (Live at Québec City Soundcheck, 2012) 6:30  
8. Got a Little Secret (Live at Auckland Soundcheck, 2013) 4:35  
9. Choices (Live at Christchurch Soundcheck, 2013) 3:31  
10. Stages (Live at Sydney Show and Hamburg Soundcheck, 2013) 3:44


Leonard Cohen – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard
Roscoe Beck – Bass Guitar/Upright Bass (Musical Director)
Sharon Robinson – Vocals
Rafael Gayol – Drums and Percussion
Neil Larsen – Organ, Keyboard, Accordion
Mitch Watkins – Guitars
Javier Mas – Guitar, Laúd & Bandurria
Alexandru Bublitchi – Violin
The Webb Sisters – Backing Vocals, Guitar & Harp
Mike Scoble - Harmonica  

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails