Saturday, 2 May 2015

Art of the Cover - Matthew E. White's "Fresh Blood [Deluxe Edition]" (2015)

Once again, some interesting and very stylised art - featuring that famous white suit! - adorns a fine MEW collection - this time his sophomore outing "Fresh Blood" on the Domino label.

In 2012, Virginian visionary, songwriter  and bandleader, Matthew E. White really impressed with his debut album, Big Inner; a stunning collection of songs that took older influences ranging from Randy Newman to Curtis Mayfield to The Band and re-sculpted them from a progressive, 21st century perspective.

Big Inner debuted at #19 on Billboard '​s Heatseekers Albums chart and received rave reviews, appearing on several "best of the year" lists in 2012.

The album, for example, received a rare five-star review from The Guardian newspaper and was called "One of the great albums of modern Americana" by acclaimed magazine Uncut 

And now White picks up right where he left off with this fantastic follow-up, Fresh Blood - a sublime 10-track LP co-produced by White and his Spacebomb Records co-founder Trey Pollard.

According to the press release, the album promises to be more “deliberate” than its predecessor, the result of “his co-writing sessions with longtime friend and former bandmate Andy Jenkins, to his steady arrangement brainstorms with the trusted Spacebomb house band—bassist Cameron Ralston, drummer Pinson Chanselle, and guitarist Trey Pollard.”

What's better is a marvellous, special, double-LP, limited-edition of the mighty new opus is now available!

"Fresh Blood" [Deluxe Edition] includes the beautifully presented Fresh Blood: No Skin, a different mix of the album minus the strings, horns, and choir.

Yap, a complete new full length minimalistic mix of the album ..... 96 minutes of beautiful infinity.

Fresh Blood is available on CD (WIGCD309), Vinyl (WIGLP309) and via digital download (WIG309D). There is also a special edition of the album, which is a double LP gatefold heavyweight vinyl (WIGLP309X) containing a bonus LP titled Fresh Blood: No Skin – a full length minimalist mix of the entire album, minus strings/horns or choir.


Fresh Blood

01 Take Care My Baby
02 Rock & Roll Is Cold
03 Fruit Trees
04 Holy Moly
05 Circle ‘Round the Sun
06 Feeling Good Is Good Enough
07 Tranquility
08 Golden Robes
09 Vision
10 Love Is Deep

Fresh Blood: No Skin (Deluxe Bonus Disc)

1. Take Care My Baby  (Minimalist Mix)
2. Rock & Roll Is Cold  (Minimalist Mix)
3. Fruit Trees (Minimalist Mix)
4. Holy Moly (Minimalist Mix)
5. Circle 'Round the Sun  (Minimalist Mix)
6. Feeling Good Is Good Enough (Minimalist Mix)
7. Tranquility (Minimalist Mix)
8. Golden Robes (Minimalist Mix)
9. Vision (Minimalist Mix)
10. Love Is Deep (Minimalist Mix)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails