Sunday, 1 March 2015

Art of the Cover - The Whitest Boy Alive's 'Dreams' (2006)

Some interesting stylised minimalist monochromatic art here.

Dreams is the fine debut album from the project formed by Kings of Convenience frontman Erlend Øye and pals aka The Whitest Boy Alive.

The album was a critical success, garnering excellent reviews from the likes of ....

 BBC 4/5 stars 
musicOMH 4/5 stars 
The Guardian 4/5 stars 
Drowned In Sound 8/10 stars 
NME 6/10 stars 
Pitchfork Media 7.1/10 

Still one half of Kings of Convenience - and well known for his Royksopp links -Norway's Erlend Oye here continues to straddle the electronic/acoustic fence with no obvious signs of discomfort. 

The Whitest Boy Alive collaboration, with Berlin DJ Marcin Oez, started off as a dance project but eventually mutated into emotive rock; a sort of beefier, less folky KoC

The songwriting still oozes quality- even when Oez's basslines veer into Cure territory, they are wonderfully counterpointed by Oye's subtle vocal style.


1. Burning   3:11
2. Above You   3:15
3. Inflation   3:50
4. Fireworks   3:12
5. Done With You   5:24
6. Don't Give Up   5:55
7. Figures   3:57
8. Borders   5:30
9. Golden Cage   4:02
10. All Ears   3:20

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails