Monday, 1 December 2014

Art of the Cover - Sylvan Esso's "Sylvan Esso" (2014)

"a breezy, joyous piece of work"
-- Stereogum

Nice minimalist artwork adorns the eponymous debut studio album by American electronic indie folk supergroup Sylvan Esso.

Sylvan Esso is a collaboration between vocalist Amelia Meath and electronic musician Nick Sanborn. 

Meath's powerful voice is front and center across the collection, unjoined by fellow harmonizers as it is in her folk group, Mountain Man

Meanwhile, Sanborn, who plays bass in the genre-destroying Megafaun, creates intricate, pulsing grooves for Meath's voice to inhabit.

The album has received wonderful reviews from critics.

James Christopher Monger of AllMusic awarded the album three-and-a-half out of five stars, calling the album "club- and café-ready, artsy and cool".

Tom Breihan of Stereogum called the album "a breezy, joyous piece of work", as well as selecting it as an Album of the Week for May 2014.

Lior Phillips of Consequence of Sound gave the album a positive review and stated that the combination of Meath and Sanborn for the album is "a true achievement for a duo who are just starting to sow their musical seeds".

1. "Hey Mami"   3:20
2. "Dreamy Bruises"   4:08
3. "Could I Be"   4:39
4. "Wolf"   3:15
5. "Dress"   3:49
6. "H.S.K.T"   4:17
7. "Coffee" 4:28
8. "Uncatena"   4:15
9. "Play It Right"   3:04
10. "Come Down"   2:57

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails