Monday, 8 December 2014

Art of the Cover - Foo Fighters' "Sonic Highways" (2014)

The acclaimed eighth album from Foo Fighters on Roswell/RCA and one accompanied by a HBO series documenting the eight-city odyssey during which the record was created.

In the series, directed by FF founder Dave Grohl, the Foo Fighters tap into the musical heritage and cultural fabric of eight cities--Chicago, Austin, Nashville, Los Angeles, Seattle, New Orleans, Washington, DC and New York--basing themselves at a legendary studios integral to the unique history and character of each location.

One song was recorded in each city, every song featuring local legends sitting in, and every lyric written in an unprecedented experimental style: Dave held off on putting down words until the last day of each session, so as to be inspired by the experiences, interviews and personalities that became part of the process.


01 – Something From Nothing
02 – The Feast and the Famine
03 – Congregation
04 – What Did I Do? / God As My Witness
05 – Outside
06 – In the Clear
07 – Subterranean
08 – I Am a River

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails