Saturday, 1 November 2014

Art of the Cover - Jerry Lee Lewis' "Rock & Roll Time" (2014)

“That is the thrill of his music – it has been a high-wire act from the start. But it has also been art of the highest order, art which has refused to accept definition or limitation, art of the greatest daring and profundity which at the same time never fails to delight.  “There’s not one-millionth of an inch difference,” Sam Phillips said, “Between the way Jerry Lee Lewis thinks about his music and the way Bach or Beethoven felt about theirs.” 
- Peter Guralnick  (From the liner notes of Rock & Roll Time)

A real iconic shot adorns this wonderful new collection.

In reverence to his past, the album cover sports a shot of Lewis in front of the old Sun Studios building, located in Memphis - a place not far from the studio where the Killer recorded most of Rock & Roll Time. 

"It was all right," he told Rolling Stone of visiting his old haunt. "It brought back a lot of memories: Pretty good memories, bad memories, semi memories."

The photograph was taken by Jim Marshall.

Yap, one of the greatest rock and rollers of all time, the legendary Jerry Lee Lewis is back!

Rock & Roll Time dropped October 28th on Vanguard Records – his first release on the label.

Rock & Roll Time features a star–studded line up of guests including Keith Richards, Robbie Robertson, Ron Wood, Neil Young, Shelby Lynne, Nils Lofgren, Daniel Lanois and more.

Recorded at the House of Blues Studio in Memphis, this 11 song collection pulls from the vaults of Chuck Berry (Little Queenie), Bob Dylan (Stepchild), Johnny Cash (Folsom Prison Blues), and Jimmy Reed (Bright Lights, Big City).

The legendary Jerry Lee Lewis does not show his age at all on this wonderful new release! Lewis, the producer and arranger did a great job of picking songs that fit his vocal range and style.

There is still the presence of his strong, rollicking piano playing on each song. There is also a nod to his Sun Studio partners Johnny Cash and Elvis Presley with "Folsom Prison Blues" and "Promise Land".

Expect to see Rock & Roll Time on the best of the year lists at the end of 2014.

The first single & title track premiered on Rock & Roll Time’ was originally co-written and recorded by Kris Kristofferson in 1974. Lewis’ rendition features guitarist Doyle Bramhall II and Jon Brion.

This month also sees the release of a new biography Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story, (Harper) by Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Rick Bragg.

Interviewing the American Icon over the course of two summers, Bragg for the first time shares Lewis’s often outrageous story as no one else ever could - straight from the legend’s mouth.

Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story is the Killer’s life as he lived it, and as he shared it over two years with the greatest bard of Southern life: Rick Bragg.

Rich with Lewis’s own words, framed by Bragg’s richly atmospheric narrative, this is the last great untold rock-and-roll story, come to life on the page.


1. Rock & Roll Time (with Doyle Bramhall II and Jon Brion)

2. Little Queenie (with Keith Richards and Ron Wood)

3. Stepchild (with Daniel Lanois and Doyle Bramhall II)

4. Sick and Tired (with Jon Brion)

5. Bright Lights, Big City (with Neil Young and Ivan Neville)

6. Folsom City Blues (with Robbie Robertson and Nils Lofgren)

7. Keep Me In Mind (with Jon Brion)

8. Mississippi Kid (with Derek Trucks and Doyle Bramhall II)

9. Blues Like Midnight (with Robbie Robertson)

10. Here Comes that Rainbow Again (with Shelby Lynne)

11. Promised Land (with Doyle Bramhall II)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails