Saturday, 18 October 2014

Art of the Cover - Mark Lanegan's 'Phantom Radio' (2014)

How many insidious occult images can one fit on an album cover? .... I guess, this many.

stereogum say .... Back in August, we heard “Floor of the Ocean,” the lead single off Mark Lanegan Band’s new record, Phantom Radio. While Lanegan’s trajectory as a musician has changed significantly since Screaming Trees — at times Phantom Radio sounds practically crystalline, far removed from the man’s grunge upbringings — Lanegan’s voice is still cavernous. Some of the tracks on Phantom Radio, like “Harvest Home,” boast a kind of morbidly rhythmic sing-song quality: “Black is a color/ Black is my name/ I need something to help me chase the devil away.” Others, like the muttered “Judgment Time” and the pleading “Waltzing In You,” intermingle roaring, synth-driven sections with soft pauses, whispered prayers.

'Phantom Radio' was produced and co-written by Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age).

British guitarist Duke Garwood appears on 'I Am The Wolf,' violinist Sietse van Gorkom co-wrote 'The Killing Season,' and Lanegan's girlfriend Shelley Brien added vocals to the set's 'Floor of the Ocean.'


01 – Harvest Home
02 – Judgement Time
03 – Floor Of The Ocean
04 – The Killing Season
05 – Seventh Day
06 – I Am The Wolf
07 – Torn Red Heart
08 – Waltzing In Blue
09 – The Wild People
10 – Death Trip To Tulsa

Bonus CD:

01 – Dry Iced
02 – No Bells On Sunday
03 – Sad Lover
04 – Jonas Pap
05 – Smokestackmagic

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails