Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Art of the Cover - David Bowie's "Sound + Vision" Box Set [Redux] (2014)

The classic David Bowie box set, originally released in 1989, is reissued again this week in the expanded 4-CD version - and at a special reduced price.

The original 3-disc set won the 1990 Grammy Award for Best Album Package, including Album Cover and Graphic Arts.

Cover photography was by Roger Gorman.

The expanded 4-CD box set covers Bowie's career from 1969 to 1994 starting with the acoustic demo version of his first hit, Space Oddity to the return to his Bromley roots for the soundtrack to Hanif Kureishi’s The Buddha Of Suburbia which is often cited as the most underrated piece in the Bowie canon.

The box is 11" X 6" and 1" thick covered in a thick plastic. The box slides out and is gray silver.

There is a 50 page glossy booklet that covers Bowie's entire history and includes all the song titles with the band members, the date of release, the producers, the publisher, the mixers, the writers (if not Bowie) and the date of the remixes. There is a ton of trivia.

Then there are four 6" X 10" 'postcards' of Bowie in collage style through the years that you can - stick on your wall? There is a 24" X 33" glossy poster of the cover with Bowie and all the song titles.

AND! Underneath of this stuff in a little cutout are four discs in thin plastic sleeves. Each disc cover has the title of each song on the disc.

As his surprise return with The Next Day showed, Bowie continues to be a cutting edge musician and artist, icon, fashion guru, and all round inspiration to several generations and remains a unique phenomenon in contemporary culture.

Sound+Vision is a collection spanning four decades, covering the 21 albums from Space Oddity through to The Buddha Of Suburbia. It’s a rich survey of David Bowie’s many musical lives offering a generous helping of hits, an intriguing dip into archives, classic album tracks and long lost B-sides, explosive live recordings, soundtrack recordings and remixes.

Sound+Vision also documents Bowie’s ever-onward work aesthetic. From Dylan inspired folkie (The Wild-Eyed Boy From Freecloud) to the hard-rocking hero of grunge legends Nirvana (‘The Man Who Sold The World’); from Glam Rock superstar (Ziggy Stardust) to white soul pioneer (Young Americans); electronica trailblazer (Warszawa) to first New Romantic (Ashes To Ashes); stadium filling star (Modern Love) to high endurance 90s legend (Jump They Say). He’s been there – and back again - often before anyone else has.


CD 1

1. Space Oddity (original demo 1969)
2. The Wild-Eyed Boy From Freecloud (rare B-side version 1969)
3. The Prettiest Star (single version 1970)
4. London Bye Ta-Ta (stereo mix recorded 1970)
5. Black Country Rock (from The Man Who Sold The World)
6. The Man Who Sold The World (from The Man Who Sold The World)
7. The Bewlay Brothers (from Hunky Dory)
8. Changes (from Hunky Dory)
9. Round And Round (alternate vocal take 1971)
10. Moonage Daydream (from The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars)
11. John I'm Only Dancing (Aladdin Sane outtake 1973)
12. Drive-In Saturday (from Aladdin Sane 1973)
13. Panic In Detroit (from Aladdin Sane 1973)
14. Ziggy Stardust (live from Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture 1973)
15. White Light/White Heat (live from Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture 1973)
16. Rock 'n Roll Suicide (live from Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture 1973)
17. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere (from Pinups 1973)
18. Sorrow (from Pinups 1973)
19. Don't Bring Me Down (from Pinups 1973)

CD 2
1. 1984/Dodo (recorded 1973)
2. Big Brother (from Diamond Dogs 1974)
3. Rebel Rebel (rare single version 1974)
4. Suffragette City (from David Live 1974)
5. Watch That Man (from David Live 1974)
6. Cracked Actor (from David Live 1974)
7. Young Americans (from Young Americans 1975)
8. Fascination (from Young Americans 1975)
9. After Today (Young Americans outtake 1975)
10. It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City (recorded 1975)
11. TVC15 (from Station To Station 1976)
12. Wild Is The Wind (from Station To Station 1976)
13. Sound And Vision (from Low 1977)
14. Be My Wife (from Low 1977)
15. Speed Of Life (from Low 1977)
16. Helden (German version of Heroes - 1989 remix)
17. Joe The Lion (from Heroes 1977)
18. Sons Of The Silent Age (from Heroes 1977)

CD 3

1. Station To Station (from Stage 1978)
2. Warszawa (from Stage 1978)
3. Breaking Glass (from Stage 1978)
4. Red Sails (from Lodger 1979)
5. Look Back In Anger (from Lodger 1979)
6. Boys Keep Swinging (from Lodger 1979)
7. Up The Hill Backwards (from Scary Monsters 1980)
8. Kingdom Come (from Scary Monsters 1980)
9. Ashes To Ashes (from Scary Monsters 1980)
10. Baal s Hymn (from Baal E.P.)
11. Drowned Girl (from Baal E.P.)
12. Cat People (Putting Out Fire) (soundtrack album version)
13. China Girl (from Let s Dance)
14. Ricochet (from Let s Dance)
15. Modern Love (Live) (B-side)
16. Loving The Alien (from Tonight)
17. Dancing With The Big Boys (from Tonight)
CD 4
1. Blue Jean (from Tonight)
2. Time Will Crawl (from Never Let Me Down)
3. Baby Can Dance (from Tin Machine)
4. Amazing (from Tin Machine)
5. I Can't Read (from Tin Machine)
6. Shopping For Girls (from Tin Machine II)
7. Goodbye Mr. Ed (from Tin Machine II)
8. Amlapura (from Tin Machine II)
9. You've Been Around (from Black Tie White Noise)
10. Nite Flights (Moodswings Back To Basics Remix Radio Edit)
11. Pallas Athena (Gone Midnight Mix)
12. Jump They Say (from Black Tie White Noise)
13. Buddha Of Suburbia (from The Buddha Of Suburbia)
14. Dead Against It (from The Buddha Of Suburbia)
15. South Horizon (from The Buddha Of Suburbia)
16. Pallas Athena (Live as Tao Jones Index)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails