Saturday, 6 September 2014

Art of the Cover - Angela Bofill's "The Essential Angela Bofill" (2014)

A lovely cover adorns this fine remastered and extensive collection of Angela’s finest moments.

Bofill's solo recording career began in 1978 with her self-titled album, Angie.

The hits This Time I’ll Be Sweeter and Under The Moon and Over the Sky began the career of a young woman whose unique blend of jazz and R&B established her as one of the top vocalists in both the pop and jazz world.

Signed to GRP records, she released her sophomore recording titled, Angel of the Night. With hits like I Try and the title track, both her albums were simultaneously topping the pop, jazz and R&B charts in 1979 for months. Angela’s recording career was solidified.

Angela released eight further albums over the following decades, scoring a number of R&B hits.

Sadly, Angela's life took a very dark turn in 2006 when she suffered two stokes which caused her to lose her ability to sing and be paralyzed on her left side. Because Bofill did not have health insurance, she had severe financial problems.

However, although having lost her ability to sing, Bofill recently returned to the stage in "The Angela Bofill Experience." The show consists of Bofill recounting her life and career, joined by artists such as Maysa Leak, Phil Perry and Melba Moore, performing Bofill's biggest hits and signature songs.


01. Under the Moon and Over the Sky (Remastered)
02. Angel of the Night (Remastered)
03. Tonight I Give In
04. Children of the World United (Remastered)
05. Rough Times (Remastered)
06. The Only Thing I Could Wish For (Remastered)
07. The Feelin's Love (Remastered)
08. Rainbow Child (Little Pas) [Remastered]
09. People Make the World Go 'Round (Remastered)
10. Stop Look Listen
11. Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing (with Boz Scaggs)
12. I'm on Your Side
13. This Time I'll Be Sweeter (Remastered)
14. Baby, I Need Your Love (Remastered)
15. Tell Me Tomorrow
16. Let Me Be the One
17. You're a Special Part of Me (feat. Angela Bofill)
18. What I Wouldn't Do (For the Love of You) [Remastered]
19. Can't Slow Down
20. Too Tough
21. Crazy for Him
22. Gotta Make It Up to You
23. Holdin' Out for Love
24. I Do Love You
25. Only Love
26. You Should Know by Now
27. Something About You
28. You're Always There
29. I Try (Remastered)
30. Rainbow Inside My Heart
31. I Can See It in Your Eyes
32. Song for a Rainy Day
33. Is This a Dream
34. Time to Say Goodbye
35. Amor Celestial (Heavenly Love, Spanish Version)

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails