Tuesday, 9 June 2015

Art of the Cover - New Pornographers' "Brill Bruisers" (2014)

Some nice neontastic artwork adorns the New Pornographers’highly anticipated - and highly acclaimed - album, Brill Bruisers released on Matador Records a few moons back.

Brill Bruisers was the first new release in four years from the acclaimed supergroup who NPR called "virtually peerless in the world of power-pop and indie-rock. "

The New Yorker has described the band's music as "magnificent and clever" while Stereogum proclaimed, "In recent history, no group has featured so much formidable established talent, collaborating on a regular basis. "

"This is a celebration record," in the words of lead-singer and main songwriter AC Newman, and that describes it perfectly - massively melodic, joyous pop music helmed by the soaring vocals of Neko Case, Dan Bejar (Destroyer) and Newman himself.

The record boasts sonic heft and song after song of inventive arrangements, wry lyrics and driving force. Not since Twin Cinema has the band sounded so deliriously, deliciously happy. 

Of the album, lead-singer and main songwriter AC Newman commented, “This is a celebration record. After periods of difficulty, I am at a place where nothing in my life is dragging me down and the music reflects that.” 

Produced by band-members John Collins (bass) with Newman, the 12-track album was recorded primarily at Little Blue in Woodstock, NY and at JC/DC Studios in Vancouver B.C. with additional recording in Austin, Brooklyn and Vermont. Newman adds, “We wanted Xanadu and we wanted Sigue Sigue Sputnik, which translated into sparklier and faster.”

Since their debut in 2000, The New Pornographers have released five studio albums including trhe acclaimed Together (2010), of which, NPR Music gushed, “Unimpeachable pop gems…these are the songs of summer” while ELLE magazine asserted, “The New Pornographers have done what all great bands do: Evolve…unpretentious and unbelievably infectious” and the Associated Press heralded, “…Together finds them at their peak. The melding of Newman’s voice with Neko Case and Kathryn Calder is endlessly inventive, weaving in and out of the nervous-sounding rhythm that is the band’s calling card. The first four songs are what the Electric Light Orchestra meant to achieve but never quite did.”

The New Pornographers are A.C. Newman, Blaine Thurier, Dan Bejar, John Collins, Kathryn Calder, Kurt Dahle, Neko Case and Todd Fancey.


1. Brill Bruisers
2. Champions Of Red Wine
3. Fantasy Fools
4. War On The East Coast
5. Backstairs
6. Marching Orders
7. Another Drug Deal Of The Heart
8. Born With A Sound
9. Wide Eyes
10. Dancehall Domine
11. Spidyr
12. Hi-Rise
13. You Tell Me Where

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails