Friday, 5 September 2014

Art of the Cover - Karen O's "Crush Songs" (2014)

Some real nice minimalist artwork adorns this new opus from the chick from Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Yap, Karen O this week releases what's been described as her first solo album (erm ... ok, let's disregard Kids and soundtracks and Academy Award nominations and other stuff!) 

Recorded in 2006 and 2007, the record is an intimate collection of lo-fi, bedroom recordings in the vein of Karen's sublime Oscar-nominated 'The Moon Song' from the Spike Jonze movie Her.

The album is called Crush Songs and contains a dozen new tracks.

The Special Edition of the album [available via the link on LHS] contains a further three extra Bonus Tracks. This version is available only on a strictly limited-edition basis.
The album drops on September 8th in the UK and on the 9th in the U.S./Canada via Strokes boy Julian Cassablancas' label, Cult.  

News of Karen's first “official” solo release, came a few weeks back with a preview of the artwork plus a note Karen posted onto her website, as above.

01 – Ooo02 – Rapt
03 – Visits
04 – Beast
05 – Comes The Night
06 – NYC Baby
07 – Other Side
08 – So Far
09 – Day Go By
10 – Body King
11 – Indian Summer
12 – Sunset Sun

Special Edition Bonus Tracks

13. Sunset Sun
14. Native Korean Rock
15. Singalong

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails