Wednesday, 16 December 2015

Art of the Cover - The Gun Club's "The Birth, The Death, The Ghost" (1984)

Wonderful artwork here adorns  "The Birth, The Death, The Ghost" - a boisterous live collection by Jeffrey Lee Pierce's legendary Gun Club.

The cover illustration was by Clayton Clarke and design by Bill Dare and James Pursey.

Some sublime Gun Club classics here interspersed with a few fine cover versions.

All tracks were recorded live in 1980 in Los Angeles at the following clubs;
- The Whiskey (tracks A1-A5)
- Jett's Cafe (tracks A6, B1)
- Hong Kong Cafe (tracks B2-B4)
- Madame Wong's Cafe (tracks B5-B7)
The LP was remastered at Trident Studios, London.


Side A
A1 Bo Diddley's A Gunslinger
A2 Railroad Bill
A3 Seven Miles With The Devil
A4 Preachin' Blues
A5 Goodbye Johnny
A6 Black Train
Side B
B1 Walking With The Beast
B2 Bad Mood
B3 Not That Much
B4 Going Down The Red River
B5 Willie Brown
B6 Field Holler
B7 Sex Beat

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails